illustration

Dinosaur Completion

Alright! So it has been a busy week this week, but it’s time to (finally) conclude this piece. Tiny-Legged T-Rex, it is time to be done.

Screen Shot 2013-10-27 at 9.06.09 PM
If you remember last time, I left off with the foreground rocks complete, but the middle and backgrounds were flat empty shapes. I had to enter a zen state of mind to finish these stripes, because no matter how cool I think they look, they get boring to draw!

Screen Shot 2013-10-27 at 9.06.19 PM
I draw each line out by hand, scan it into the computer, and then trace over it again in photoshop. It got a little tedious, if I were to explore this style more I would have to find a more efficient way to achieve the same effect.

Screen Shot 2013-11-13 at 9.12.37 PM
Here is a quick look of the pencil lines used for the rock stripes.

Screen Shot 2013-10-31 at 9.30.29 PM
Above you can see the rocks pretty much filled in. It might be hard to tell, but I thinned out the black outlines on the rocks in the distance to try and give the effect that they are receding into the back.

Screen Shot 2013-10-31 at 9.57.36 PM
I made the tall vertical rocks red to balance out the image a bit. I didn’t want the only red in the image to be in the dinosaur, but I also didn’t want them to compete for attention. The eye is drawn to bright reds really quickly, so I dimmed the red in the rocks.

Dino Nearly Finished
I also noticed that the very distant mountains, the faint blue shapes in the very back, might be drawing the eye toward the rocks and not towards the dinosaur, so I changed them to flow towards the dinosaur and tightened up their shape a bit. It’s a pretty minor change but I like how it worked out.  I also added some shadows to the rocks in the very front.

Screen Shot 2013-11-13 at 9.36.15 PM
A few minor changes, the addition of a rock in the bottom right that had been cropped and had escaped my attention until now, and it’s all done! For now… ahhhhh. There are still some things I’m not quite happy with, but this will do.

Here are some things that could be addressed:

The color of the grass might be a bit off, there is probably a better color to pull together the whole scene.
The shadows below the front rocks and the dinosaur itself don’t quite work. They don’t fit into the image as well as some of the other parts.
The entire composition could be re-done  to make it more engaging.

Well, if you have been following this since the beginning, thanks for checking in. I’m happy with how this turned out, and I learned a lot. Now to figure out what is next!

Standard

5 thoughts on “Dinosaur Completion

  1. Pingback: (Very) Rough Sketch Sneak-Preview | lafbok

  2. Pingback: (Very) Rough Sketch Sneak-Preview : Paper Psychology

  3. Pingback: (Very) Rough Sketch Sneak-Preview : The Objectivists

Leave a Reply

