illustration, Inspiration

Saturday Inspiration: Papercut Illustration

From woodcut to paper cut, here is another illustration style that would be great to try out in the future! There is something I find so endearing about paper cut illustration. I love how flat illustrations can look really amazing. I love how there is an element of hand work and analog fine motor skills.  I love the idea of using only texture and color to try and create an image with depth and character.  As you can see below, it can be done quite effectively.

Hover over the image to find out the artist/studio.

This post wouldn’t be complete without showing you the work of Bomboland. (Check out their work here) Based out of Lucca, Italy, they do some of the best paper cut-style work I have seen. When I first stumbled upon their pieces I felt completely torn, do I love it because of how wonderful it is, or hate it out of jealousy because I don’t think I could ever produce something like it? A bit of both I think.  Below are some illustrations from a book they did, but check out their website, you won’t be disappointed.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Saturday Inspiration: Papercut Illustration

Leave a Reply

